History – Zone and LNC/MNC

Zone Fourteen Bowling Association was created and affiliated with the Royal New South Wales Bowling Association (RNSWBA) in 1995, following a redistribution of clubs to make up a total of 16 Zones throughout the State.  Before this time the clubs formed part of Zone 1, which stretched North to the Queensland border.

The Zone was initially made up of two separate District Bowling Associations, the Lower North Coast (LNC) and Mid North Coast (MNC).

On the 25 July 2014 the Mid North Coast, and 1 August 2014 the Lower North Coast District Bowling Associations were dissolved as part of the Management restructuring of the Zone.

History LNC farewell notes

History LNC honour board

History MNC honour board

Also as part of this restructure on the 27 June 2014 the name of the Zone was changed to Zone 14 Bowling Association Inc.

Originally the Zone comprised 28 clubs whose affiliation years were:

1921  Kempsey 1938  Port Macquarie – Now Port City 1942  Coffs Harbour
1947  Macksville 1948  Wauchope 1950  Nambucca Heads
1952  Sawtell 1952  Woolgoolga 1953  North Haven
1953  Urunga 1956  Bowraville 1958  South West Rocks
1958  Westport Macquarie – Now Westport 1959  Kempsey Heights 1959 Park Beach
1959  Scotts Head 1963  Crescent Head 1963  Hat Head
1968  Stuarts Point 1970  North Beach 1972  Comboyne
1972  Lake Cathie 1978  Port Macquarie RSL – Now Port Panthers 1985  Camden Haven Golf – Now Kew
1947  Dorrigo – closed 2010 1947  Bellingen – closed 2015 1971  West Coffs – closed 2015
1934  Smithtown – ceased affiliation 2017    

The Constitution was adopted 13 May 1995.

Application for affiliation with RNSWBA Inc was 16 June 1995. 

Incorporated 22 December 1995 under the Associations Incorporated Act 1984.

At a meeting in Grafton 13 May 1995 the districts of the LNC and MNC met officially to form its new Zone – Zone Fourteen.

The steering committee elected was: –

President:                    Ray Pickford   – LNC             (North Haven)

Vice President:            Ed Lydall        – MNC            (Woolgoolga)

Vice President:            Nev Roth        – LNC             (Port City)

Secretary/Treasurer:    Pat Geary        – MNC            (West Coffs)

State Councillor:         Don Wallace   – LNC             (Hat Head)


Inaugural AGM – held 15 October 1995 at Scotts Head B.C. where steering committee were formally elected to office for 1995/96.

Zone colours:             Red and white.