Zone championship playoffs – Saturday

Congratulations to all the various winners of the Zone championships played today (6 July) at Stuarts Point.  Luckily the weather while trying to upset things didn’t wash out the games – well done to all the players.  Photos include Zone President (also Zone State Councillor) Paul Sullivan and State Selector Paul Russell who assisted with the presentations to the players.

MORNING GAMES – weather not too bad

Geoffrey Flynn, Rick Southam, Cory Daley and Kent Price (s) from Park Beach with Paul Sullivan and Paul Russell.  The team from Park Beach proved too strong for their opponents from Westport – Jeff Fathers, Peter Stockham, Greg Brims and Peter Taylor – taking out the Open fours title 25 to 7.


Paul Parramore, John Bradley, Stan Russ (s) and Athol Grogan from Urunga receive their trophies.  They did battle with another Westport side Glen Hayes, Peter Butler, Michael Brennan and Richard Lee in the Senior fours which after a tight battle they won 23 to 17.


Robert Godbold, George Botfield, Dale Jeffery (s) and Allan Low from Stuarts Point used their home ground knowledge well to take out the President’s Reserve fours final 25 to 17 against Ross Williams, Phil Barnett, John Huckley and Barry Horsfall from South West Rocks.

 Barry’s team on the right.


The President’s Reserve pairs final saw another tight battle between John Davis and Ernie Hodges (s) (Urunga) against Chris Connors and Daniel Abela (s) (Kempsey Macleay RSL).  In a tight game the Urunga duo who were runners up in the 2018 Zone playoffs came from behind to win 17 to 15.


The last game from the morning saw South West Rock’s Rod Wooldridge, Wally Brooks and Des Pagett (s) win a close President’s Reserve triples final 25 to 23 against John Reynolds, Owen Smith (s) and Terry Steele from Nambucca Heads.


AFTERNOON GAMES – weather cold and wet

Peter Stockham (Westport) won the Senior singles final against Graeme Colman (Park Beach) 31 to 15.  Graeme congratulates Peter while President Paul and State Selector Paul watch on.


Rick Southam (Park Beach) carried on the good form from the morning fours final winning the Open triples 26 to 10 with Josh Forbes and Jim Swan defeating Wauchope’s Peter Ostler, Paul Harrison and Jim Purdy.


The Senior triples saw a battle between Col Baldwin, Michael Brennan and Richard Lee (s) (Westport) and John Buntine, Athol Grogan and John Bradley (s) (Urunga).  Athol, John, Michael and Richard all played against one another in the Senior fours final in the morning with Urunga victorious.  Urunga led at the 16th end but Westport never gave up and the scores were level 23 all after 21 ends.  While Urunga scored 1 shot on the next end Westport picked up 5 shots on the next 2 ends enabling them to hold off Urunga to finally win 28 to 27.

Thanks to Stuarts Point for all their help in holding today’s events.  Open and President’s Reserve singles, and Open and Senior pairs to be held Sunday morning.